2019 AFCON: Benin coach names final 23-man squad

Author: Beatrice Laryea
The Squirrels of Benin

Ghana’s Group F opponents, Benin have named their final 23-man squad for 2019 African Cup of Nations (AFCON) set for Egypt from June 21 to July 19.

Coach Michel Dussuyer selected on 21 foreign-based players and two local players as his team for the continent’s flagship tournament.

The Squirrels will play their first game of the tournament against Ghana in Ismailia before taking on Guinea Bissau and Cameroun in that order.

Sessi d’Almeida happy to have made it in Benin's final AFCON squad

Benin's full squad:

Goalkeepers: Saturnin Allagbé (Niort / France), Fabien Farnolle (Yeni Malatyaspor / Turkey), Cherif Dine Kakpo (Buffaloes)

Defenders: Olivier Verdon (Sochaux / France), Khaled Adenon (Amiens / France), Moise Adilehou (Levadiakos / Greece), Junior Salomon (United Plateau / Nigeria) Seidou Barazé (Moulins Yzeure / France), Rodrigue Fassinou (Aspac), David Kiki (Red Star / France), Emmanuel Imorou (Caen / France)

Midfielders: Sessi d’Almeida (Yeovil Town / England), Jordan Adeoti (Auxerre / France), Mama Seibou (Toulon SC / France), Stéphane Sèssegnon (Genclerbirligi / Turkey), Tidjani Anaane (Ben Guerdane / Tunisia), Rodrigue Kossi (African Club / Tunisia)

Forwards: Steve Mounié (Huddersfield / England), Michael Poté (Adana Demirspor / Turkey), Jodel Dossou (Vaduz / Switzerland), David Djigla (Niort / France), Desire Sègbè Azankpo (FK Senica / Slovakia), Cèbio Soukou ( Hansa Rostock / Germany)