Referee Laryea fails to make AFCON shortlis

Author: Samuel Amoesi
Referee Daniel Laryea

The Confederation of African Football (CAF) has released a list of 56 match officials for the 2019 Africa Cup of Nations (AFCON) in Egypt without Ghana’s FIFA referee, Daniel Laryea.

Laryea, a centre referee, failed to make the list of 26 referees and 30 assistant referees picked for the competition fixed for June 21 to July 19.
According to a statement from CAF, Tunisia tops the list of referees with three officials; Sadok Selmi, Youssef Essrayri and Guirat Haythem, followed by

Morocco with two referees Redouane Jiyed and Noureddine El Jaafari, with Senegal also having two names in the list; Maquette Ndiaye and Issa SY.
Host nation, Egypt, also has two referees in the list: Amin Mohamed Omar and Ibrahim Nour El Din.

The  24 nations tournament, to be hosted in four cities and six venues, will have a referee each from Algeria, Angola, Botswana, Burundi, Cameroon, Ethiopia, Gambia, Kenya, Madagascar, Mali, Mauritania, Mauritius, RD Congo, Rwanda, Seychelles, Zambia and South Africa.

In the assistant referees category, Egypt tops the list with three, followed by Algeria, Cameroon, Morocco, Sudan and Tunisia with two each as Angola, Burkina Faso, Chad, Comoros, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Guinea, Kenya, Lesotho, Libya, Madagascar, Mozambique, Niger, RD Congo, Senegal, South Africa, and Uganda have a representative each.